Get Organized

It can be tough to stay on top of all the things you need to do in any given day or week.  If you’re like me working side gigs on top of a regular job, you need help staying on top of all the different tasks vying for your attention.  Here are a few things I’ve found to work:

Keep a journal.  Every day I spend 30-45 minutes writing down my thoughts, as well as my goals and what I am grateful for.  It’s incredibly good at keeping me focused and setting good intentions for the day, as well as tracking my goals over time.

Get a wall calender.  They give you a quick visual of how much time you have to achieve various deadlines, or when you committed to meeting a friend for lunch.  I like to mark each day with colored sharpie when I achieve the goals I set for myself in my journal.

Make a list of priorities.  What projects are you working on now?  What steps do you need to do in order to complete those projects? How long should each project take?  I take on new tasks all the time, and sometimes forget about old ones before I have a chance to finish them.  Listing every commitment or project I have keeps me accountable to them.  Ordering them from most important to least important allows me to knock out the big stuff first and feel really good about what I’ve accomplished.

Don’t bite off more than you can chew.  Because I have so many projects open all at once, it is very easy to feel overwhelmed by them.  Know your limits for how much you can take on without drowning.  The only thing worse than feeling like you aren’t accomplishing anything is to actually do nothing because you’ve given yourself too much to do.  You’ll be happier and more productive with a smaller work load.

Keep an ideas folder.  Anything that you cannot take on right now but really want to do in the future can go in this folder.  You can crack it open if you’re ever bored and looking for something to do.  It’s great for filing away thoughts and ideas that keep nagging you and distracting you from your current task.

There you have it, five ways to get and stay organized.  There are plenty of tools available to help with this.  Evernote is my personal favorite for cross platform support and being able to save articles from the web.  If you aren’t technologically savvy (or even if you are), a good old pen and paper is still the best way to draft new ideas and keep them for posterity.

Leave a Reply

