Don’t be an Asshole

Seems pretty obvious, but it can be harder than it sounds.  Almost nobody who you would call an asshole believes that they are one.  They probably think that they’re nice people.

Since it’s groundhog day, I thought I’d talk about what we can learn from Groundhog Day.  Bill Murray, an Asshole, is trapped for eternity in Punxsutawney Pennsylvania. Repeating the same day over and over again, until he can finally get it right.  His character Phil journeys from being one of the biggest assholes you could probably meet, to becoming a kindhearted and passionate man of many talents.  He helps everybody in the town and gets to move on because he stopped thinking about himself. The line that sums this up is “What can I do for you today?”

Put another way by Rango (yeah I’m gonna quote Rango),

“It’s not about you, it’s about them.”

Be about other people.  Like other people. Be interested in what they have to say. Most importantly put them before you. Don’t subjugate yourself, just care about them.

I’ve been an asshole most of my adult life because I have been selfish and self-centered.  I still am, but I’m trying to bring awareness to that in my day to day life. Making an effort to live for other people is a step toward actually doing it.  I wish someone had sat me down and told me that ten years ago..

All you have to do is your best.

Leave a Reply

